Westminster Hall Debate for Shaker Aamer - Transcript and Video


The full transcript of the debate held for Shaker Aamer in 24th April in Westminster Hall can be accessed here.

A video is also available here.

If your MP was amongst those who attended and made contributions then please write to them to thank them. Please also write to Jane Ellison MP to thank her for her efforts in securing the debate and for Shaker in general.

MPs who made contributions:

John McDonnell (Hayes and Harlington) (Lab)
Stephen Timms (East Ham) (Lab)
Yasmin Qureshi  (Bolton South East) (Lab)
Caroline Lucas  (Brighton, Pavilion) (Green)
Jeremy Corbyn: (Islington North) (Lab)
Eric Joyce (Falkirk) (Ind)
Jane Ellison (Battersea) (Con)
Andy Slaughter (Hammersmith) (Lab)
Kerry McCarthy  (Bristol East) (Lab)
Mark Durkan (Foyle) (SDLP)
Jeremy Corbyn (Islington North) (Lab)
Gavin Shuker (Luton South) (Lab/Co-op)
Mr Russell Brown (Dumfries and Galloway) (Lab)
Mr Jim Cunningham (Coventry South) (Lab)
John Woodcock (Barrow and Furness) (Lab/Co-op)
Mike Freer (Finchley and Golders Green) (Con)
Anas Sarwar (Glasgow Central) (Lab)
Sadiq Khan (Tooting) (Lab) - attended but unable to speak as a Frontbencher

Shaker Aamer's MP will return to the Backbench Business Committee in May, once the committee has been re-elected, to request a further debate in the House of Commons where a motion can be passed.