Sign the EDM for the Release of Shaker Aamer
A cross-party group of MPs - Jeremy Corbyn (Lab), David Davis (Con), Andrew Mitchell (Con), Alex Salmond (SNP), Tim Farron (LD), Andy Slaughter (Lab) have launched a new Early Day Motion (EDM) for Shaker Aamer: RELEASE OF SHAKER AAMER FROM GUANTANAMO

Please email your MP via and ask that they put their name to it. With your support, we aim for at least 100 MPs to support it.

To read the EDM click here:

Session: 2015-16
Date tabled: 09.09.2015

Primary sponsor: Mitchell, Andrew

Sponsors: Corbyn, Jeremy Salmond, Alex Farron, Tim Davis, David Slaughter, Andy

That this House calls on the US administration to release Shaker Aamer from his imprisonment in Guantanamo Bay; notes that he has now been incarcerated for 13 years without charge; further notes that he has twice been cleared for release and transfer, under President Bush in 2007 and President Obama in 2009; supports the call made by the Prime Minister for his release and return to the UK; notes the unanimous resolution of the House of 17 March 2015 that Shaker Aamer be released; and asserts that the defeat of terrorism will only be achieved by upholding the principle of the rule of law - to the protection of which Mr Shaker Aamer is entitled.